Tuesday, January 08, 2019

Coming Up: Flamin' Groovies "Gonna Rock Tonight: Complete Recordings 1969-1971"

Out March 1 from Grapefruit.


Irrespective of musical direction, sales figures or personnel changes, The Flamin' Groovies have always had greatness attached to their name. Cyril Jordan's mid-Seventies revamp of the band was certainly a huge influence on entire generations of skinny-tied power poppers, but the Groovies took their first tentative steps on the long and winding road to cult stardom back in the late Sixties, when lead singer, original band leader and rock'n'roll aficionado Roy Loney battled for the upper hand with young pup and Beatles obsessive Jordan. After the tentative, privately-issued 10" mini-album debut Sneakers, the Groovies made the transition from San Francisco also-rans to genuine contenders with a trio of peerless albums - Supersnazz, Flamingo and the particularly magnificent Teenage Head - for major labels (Columbia's Epic imprint and Buddah subsidiary Kama Sutra). Bolstered by sundry outtakes, alternative versions and single mixes, those three albums now appear under one roof for the first time with Gonna Rock Tonite!, a complete anthology of the band's studio work during the pivotal 1969-71 timeframe: halcyon days that ended in late 1971 when Loney abruptly quit the group he'd formed just a few short years earlier. Bursting with creative tension, wilful diversity and absurdist wit, Gonna Rock Tonite! Climaxes with the classic album Teenage Head, a brazen attempt to out-Stone the Stones that saw one critic describe it at the time of it's mid-1971 appearance as "close to being the best hard rock album ever released by an American group". The definitive issue of these definitive recordings, Gonna Rock Tonite! #is a 3-CD set taken from the masters and housed in a striking clamshell box. It includes a 20-page booklet that features a new 7,500 word essay on the band.

Disc: 1

  1. Love Have Mercy
  2. The Girl Can't Help It
  3. Laurie Did It
  4. A Part from That
  5. Rockin' Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu
  6. The First One's Free
  7. Pagan Rachel
  8. Somethin' Else/Pistol Packin' Mama
  9. Brushfire
  10. Bam Balam
  11. Around the Corner
  12. Rockin' Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu (Single Version)
  13. The First One's Free (Single Version)
  14. Somethin' Else (Single Version)
  15. Laurie Did It (Single Version)

Disc: 2

  1. Gonna Rock Tonite
  2. Comin' After You
  3. Headin' for the Texas Border
  4. Sweet Roll Me on Down
  5. Keep a Knockin'
  6. Second Cousin
  7. Childhood's End
  8. Jailbait
  9. She's Falling Apart
  10. Road House
  11. Shakin' All Over
  12. That'll Be the Day
  13. Louie Louie
  14. My Girl Josephine
  15. Around and Around
  16. Rockin' Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu
  17. Going Out

Disc: 3

  1. High Flyin' Baby
  2. City Lights
  3. Have You Seen My Baby?
  4. Yesterday's Numbers
  5. Teenage Head
  6. 32-20
  7. Evil Hearted Ada
  8. Doctor Boogie
  9. Whisky Woman
  10. Scratch My Back
  11. Carol
  12. Rumble
  13. Somethin' Else
  14. Walking the Dog
  15. Going Out (Version 2)

No comments:

Post a Comment