Friday, March 19, 2021

New music out today: Neil Young, Ringo Starr, Keith Jarrett, more

Click the links to order  from Amazon.

Neil Young and Reprise Record sare pleased to announce the 50th Anniversary Edition of Young’s classic record After the Gold Rush, which will arrive on CD on December 11. The deluxe vinyl box set will follow on March 19. Originally released September 19, 1970,After the Gold Rushis cemented in the annals of music history—the album has often been rightly recognized as one of the finest ever made. The collection combined Young’s poetic lyricism and wistful melodies, driven by both dreamy folk arrangements and ferocious rock ‘n’ roll, and in the decades since has been certified double platinum in both the U.S. and the U.K.The 50th Anniversary Edition vinyl boxset features a variant of the artwork, originally created by Neil’s long-time art directorGary Burden, made in collaboration with Grammy Award-winning artistJenice Heo. The set also includes a 7” single in a picture sleeve with two versions of album outtake “Wonderin’.” Side A, originally included in The Archives Vol. 1: 1963-1972, was recorded in Topanga, California, in March 1970, and Side B is a previously unreleased version recorded at Sunset Sound in Hollywood in August 1969. A litho print of the album’s front cover is exclusively included in this vinyl box set. The CD format of the 50th Anniversary Edition includes the new artwork and both versions of“Wonderin’.”

'Zoom In' was recorded at Ringo Starr's home studio from April-October 2020. The 5 new songs "Here's To The Nights," "Zoom In Zoom Out," "Teach Me To Tango," "Waiting for the Tide to Turn" & "Not Enough Love In the World" include contributions from Paul McCartney, Joe Walsh, Ben Harper, Dave Grohl, Sheryl Crow, Chris Stapleton, Steve Lukather, Jenny Lewis, Lenny Kravitz, Corinne Bailey Rae, Eric Burton, Yola, FINNEAS, Benmont Tench, Robbie Krieger, Sam Hollander, Bruce Sugar & more.

A work of art by any standards, Sun Bear Concerts brings together solo concerts in November 1976 in Kyoto, Osaka, Nagoya, Tokyo and Sapporo, in recordings made by Japanese engineer Okihiro Sugano and producer Manfred Eicher, who travelled through Japan with Keith Jarrett. The set's book-form packaging, with design by Barbara Wojirsch, includes photographs by Klaus Knaup, Tadayuki Naitoh and Akira Aimi. 10 LP.

Two CDs. Ladies and Gentlemen, there are seven acknowledged wonders of the world, you are about to witness the eighth. Standing in the spotlight, on showcase, twelve young men, who have given you such tunes as 'The Grunt', 'Pass The Peas', and 'Gimme Some More'. Without any doubt, these are the J. B. 's! That lyric says it all! Robinsongs has great pleasure to bring you what must have been the World's funkiest Band, and the Godfather Of Soul the legendary James Brown, Doing It To Death and Damn Right I Am Somebody in one double CD package. Featuring some of the classic Funk Anthems such as 'Gimme Some More', 'Pass The Peas', 'Hot Pants Road' and the Number 1 R&B single 'Doing It To Death'. These albums were produced by James Brown, and although there are a few instrumentals like the mesmerising 'Theme From King Heroin', James Brown's vocals are prominent and tracks such as 'Escape-ism' and 'More Peas' make you feel like you are also listening to a classic James Brown album. But James is not the only well-known player on these albums, they also feature Fred Wesley, Maceo Parker, William (Bootsy) Collins, Bobby Byrd and the backbeat supreme Clyde (The Funky Drummer) Stubblefield are all out front as well as many other famous J. B. 's. The "Damn Right I Am Somebody" album gave Fred Wesley lead billing as Band leader and the album was recorded during the same session as James Brown "The Payback" album, and you can tell as the album has a similar vibe. As the original album cover stated Think That You Are Somebody And You'll Be Somebody - Positive Thinking.

Two CDs. With Duke Reid's Treasure Isle catalogue having been mercilessly plundered over the past few decades, you would be forgiven for thinking that precious little of the legendary producer's work currently remains unavailable. This sensational collection of long-lost rock steady, proto reggae and soul tracks from 1968 demonstrates otherwise. The first dozen tracks are lifted directly from a recently discovered Trojan Records tape of a previously unissued compilation album, "Soul Power", while the remainder of the material is in a similar vein, culminating in a fascinating and hugely entertaining 42 track collection of hits, rarities and previously unissued tracks. A sensational stand-alone compilation, while also perfectly complementing currently available Treasure Isle collections released by both Doctor Bird and Trojan, "Soul Power '68" demonstrates that with a bit of digging, precious gems can still be found!

No comments:

Post a Comment