Wednesday, June 09, 2021

Coming Up: "Back To The Basics - The Chips Moman Songbook"

Out July 9 from Ace Records. Order now from Amazon.


A career-spanning overview of the revered Memphis music man's songbook - including solo compositions and collaborations. The CD comprises two-dozen choice cuts - many of them chart-topping and million-selling records and songs - by high-calibre talents ranging from William Bell and Carla Thomas, to Gram Parsons and Cher, to Waylon Jennings, Kenny Rogers and Johnny Cash. Truly an all-star aggregation to honour a genuine all-round talent. 

1. Luckenbach, Texas (Back To The Basics Of Love) - Waylon Jennings,
2. Fool In Love - The Veltones, 
3. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man - Cher, 
4. For You - Gizzelle, 
5. This Time - Troy Shondell, 
6. Lyin' Again - Kenny Rogers,
7. (Hey Won't You Play) Another Somebody Done Somebody Wrong Song - B.J. Thomas, 
8. Dark End Of The Street - The Flying Burrito Bros, 
9. Promises - Carla Thomas, 
10. Every Little Bit Helps - Helen Henry, 
11. Sandcastles - Merrilee Rush & The Turnabouts, 
12. Last Night - Georgie Fame & The Blue Flames, 
13. Somebody Mentioned Your Name - William Bell, 
14. You're Gonna See A Lot More (Of My Leaving) - Barbara Lynn, 
15. Don't Let It Be (This Time) - The Gentrys, 
16. I'll Never Give Her Up (My Friend) - The Canes, 
17. If She Should Ever Break Your Heart - Barbara Stephens, 
18. Okeechobee Purple - Gary Stewart, 
19. Staring Each Other Down - Brenda Lee, 
20. Here Come The Flowers - Dottie West, 
21. Easy Street - Johnny Cash, 
22. He's Rolling Over And Over (In Someone Else's Clover) - Tammy Wynette

No comments:

Post a Comment