Coming up: Beyond Mars by Jack Williamson and Lee Elias

Out Sept. 28.

Written by renowned science fiction author Jack Williamson and superbly drawn by Lee Elias, Beyond Mars is one of the rarest Sunday strips - it only appeared in a single newspaper, The New York Sunday News. This oversized book presents the complete series - all 161 strips from 1952 to 1955 - in their original color!

Comic art: Jack Kirby storyboard for Fantastic Four animated series 1978

Coming up: Ben E. King - The Complete Atco/Atlantic Singles Vol. 1 - 1960 - 1966

Out Aug. 7, 2015.

From his early days as a last-second replacement in the Drifters to his sterling solo career during which he scored a total of 31 pop and 24 R&B chart hits, the late, great Ben E. King was responsible for some of the most indelible recordings in pop music history. His big, beautiful baritone powered such Hall of Fame songs as There Goes My Baby, Save the Last Dance for Me, Spanish Harlem and, of course, Stand by Me, and almost alone among R&B singers of his era he successfully transitioned into the disco era of the 70s with hits like Supernatural Thing and his acclaimed collaboration with the Average White Band.
Now, Real Gone Music, in tandem with SoulMusic Records, is planning to release two of the most ambitious collections ever devoted to Ben E. King s work, a pair of 2-CD sets containing the A and B-side of every single the man released during his storied career recording for the Atco and Atlantic labels.
Long in the making, this first volume features 50 tracks that cover the years 1960 to 1966; many of these songs (especially the B-sides) never came out domestically on CD, and most never came out at all on CD in the original mono single versions found here, all from original tape sources. These are the recordings and the correct versions of the recordings that went out over the radio airwaves and made Ben E. King a legend, including Spanish Harlem, Stand by Me, Don't Play That Song (You Lied) and Amor, remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision and annotated by British soul music expert/DJ Clive Richardson. With Ben s recent passing, a timely release and a major addition to his catalog.

Disc: 1
1. Brace Yourself
2. Show Me the Way
3. A Help-Each-Other Romance (LaVern Baker & Ben E. King)
4. How Often (LaVern Baker & Ben E. King)
5. Spanish Harlem
6. First Taste of Love
7. Stand by Me
8. On the Horizon
9. Amor
10. Souvenir of Mexico
11. Young Boy Blues
12. Here Comes the Night
13. Ecstasy
14. Yes
15. Don t Play That Song (You Lied)
16. Hermit of Misty Mountain
17. Too Bad
18. My Heart Cries for You
19. I m Standing By
20. Walking in the Footsteps of a Fool
21. Tell Daddy
22. Auf Weidersehn, My Dear
23. How Can I Forget
24. Gloria, Gloria
25. I (Who Have Nothing)
26. The Beginning of Time
27. I Could Have Danced All Night
28. Gypsy
Disc: 2
1. What Now My Love
2. Groovin
3. That s When It Hurts
4. Around the Corner
5. What Can a Man Do
6. Si Senor
7. It s All Over
8. Let the Water Run Down
9. Seven Letters
10. River of Tears
11. The Record (Baby I Love You)
12. The Way You Shake It
13. She s Gone Again
14. Not Now (I ll Tell You When)
15. Cry No More
16. (There s) No Place to Hide
17. Goodnight My Love
18. I Can t Break the News to Myself
19. So Much Love
20. Don t Drive Me Away
21. I Swear by the Stars Above
22. Get in a Hurry

Coming up: Dusty Springfield - Come for a Dream - The U.K. Sessions 1970 - 1971

Out Aug. 7, 2015.

During her 1968-1971 period with Atlantic Records in the United States, Dusty Springfield also continued to record material in England, where her Atlantic repertoire was released on Philips Records. In turn, Atlantic received rights to issue Dusty's British recordings from the era, but chose to focus entirely on her American sessions. In fact, it wasn t until the 90s that some of these masters (many of which originally came out on the Philips See All Her Faces album overseas) were available Stateside, but they were scattered across several compilations and were never comprehensively assembled.

Now, with the release of Come For A Dream The U.K. Sessions 1970-1971, all of Dusty s orphaned British recordings from her 1970-1971 Atlantic period have been gathered together for the first time. These 16 sides document what was intended to be a complete album plus some extra single sides and outtakes. Dusty was singing at her absolute best during this time, covering pop, rock and soul with equal power and sensitivity; thus, Come For A Dream represents a major addition and clarification to the legendary singer s discography. Notes by Joe Marchese shed further light on this tumultuous period in Dusty Springfield s career, with rare photos to boot. A perfect companion piece to Real Gone Music s recent Faithful release, which presented Dusty s missing third album for Atlantic from the same era in proper fashion for the first time.

1. A Song For You
2. Mixed Up Girl
3. Wasn't Born To Follow
4. Sweet Inspiration
5. Yesterday When I Was Young
6. Let Me Down Easy
7. Come For A Dream
8. Girls It Ain't Easy
9. See All Her Faces
10. Crumbs Off The Table
11. What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life?
12. How Can I Be Sure
13. Goodbye
14. Girls Can't Do What The Guys Do
15. I Start Counting
16. Go My Love
17. O-o-h Child

Pop artifact: Batmobile zip car

New comics and more June 17, 2015: Tarzan; Little Nemo; Captain America; R. Crumb; Peanuts; Graham Ingels; Batman modeling dough kits

New collected editions and more this week. Click the links to order discounted items from Amazon.

Edgar Rice Burroughs' Jungle Tales of Tarzan

Little Nemo: Return to Slumberland